The Wheels almost fell off

At 4am this morning after my umpteenth visit to the bog with the squits I wasn’t sure I’d be able to ride but after some Imodium I got stuck in.
In a camp with 200 people eating, sleeping, washing and the rest bugs spread and a number of riders are having problems.

The ride today was the toughest and longest I have ever done. The final distance was 146 miles due to a route change. To say the weather has been changeable would be an understatement. We had sun rain hail and strong winds.
Over Glenco ski resort I was in first gear having to pedal down hill into the wind.

I didn’t know how I would get on so I started first start at 6am as I didn’t want to hold up my usual gang of 4. Rode the first 95 solo which on reflection wasn’t that smart as I didn’t have any wheels to sit on.

Lochs very pretty. Cycled the way alongside loch Lomond.

In another B&B tonight trying to get myself fully recovered. Sarah should have been a travel agent.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Wheels almost fell off

  1. liz Perkins says:

    Proud of you Rick – keep going, you’re doing a trojan job. Hope tomorrow’s a better day for you. O) xx

  2. Simon Reynolds says:

    ‘Take the pain and you’ll make the gain’ is the usual mantra, and it sounds like you’re taking the pain for sure! Not an even small peleton to ride in makes it pretty hard going too.
    Still, you have Sarah’s dedication in looking after her man to get you through the wind down every day.
    It’s for a great cause, so take the pain and the gain will be there’s.
    For you, the rides no mean feat, and one you’ll be able to tell your kids about – if you have any energy left to produce that is!!
    S

  3. chris lofts says:

    well done rick.. your in the final stages now.. keep on keeping on as they say

  4. David Holloway says:

    Well done. Sounds like a truly epic ride. You are getting close. No matter how hard it is you wont want to stop riding when you get to John O’Groats! I hope the weather gods are kind to you for the last sections.

Leave a comment